Planning Commission

Purpose:  The Planning Commission hears and make recommendations to City Council on matters such as plat layout of new Subdivisions, Annexation requests, Rezoning requests, Variance requests, Special Use Permits, and Text Amendments to the zoning code.  Applications can be found in the Document Center to the left.

All applications must be submitted by the required date.  This timeframe allows for legal advertisement of the cases, notification of adjacent property owners, and posting of public hearing notices on the property.  All applications are to be submitted to the Planning Department by the end of the month prior to the requested meeting. (Example: For February meetings, the applications would be required to be submitted to the Planning Department by the end of January.)

Members: The City of St. Marys Planning Commission consists of five members.  All five members are appointed by the City Council and serve three year terms.  Members must be a resident of St. Marys.

The Current Commission Members

            Term Appointment            Term Expiration 
Larry Johnson (Chair)           01/03/2002            12/31/2017 
Arlene Norris            01/03/2002            12/31/2017 
Michael J. Rich            10/07/2013            12/31/2018 
Nancy Stasinis            01/05/2015            12/31/2018 
Doug Cooper            04/26/2010            12/31/2016 

Meetings:  The Planning Commission Board meets monthly on the fourth Tuesday of each month at 5:30 p.m.  Meetings are open to the public and are held in the Council Chambers in City Hall.  It is anticipated that appointed members will attend the majority of the regulary scheduled meetings and if unable to attend, will notify the chair in advance of the meeting.

Interested in Serving:  If you are interested in serving, it is suggested that you attend at least one meeting in order to have a better understanding of the function of the board.  Appointed members of all citizen boards are required to attend Open Records Open Meetings training provided by the City Clerk. 

More Information: For more information, please contact Michele Wood at (912) 510-4025.